Historical Introduced September 1997; described in official 2001 archive
Tuvalu — Paid resident passport — archived
Paid resident passport — archived is classified as travel passport. Its inventory status is historical. .
Special passport · no nationality at this stage
Archived noncitizen passport scheme.
Evidence & review dates · 13 October 2026
Evidence reviewed Dated research; confirm current terms with the authority.
Government of Canada ↗All sources & limitations →Suggest a correction →- Legal outcome
- Permanent resident status + passport; no citizenship
Cost breakdown
A complete itemised government-fee subtotal is not listed here. The qualifying amount remains separate from document, professional and other charges.
No operative current tariff or complete cost is verified. Do not treat archived prices as a present offer.
Current and upcoming changes
Official research update · 2026-10-24
UK entry rule: For UK entry using this non-national document, a visa is required under the non-national travel-document rule. Separate UK immigration-status exemptions and airside-transit rules can apply. Document recognition is a separate requirement. Checked 2026-10-24. Official source ↗
Canada entry rule: IRCC requires a visitor visa for alien-passport holders and stateless travellers, subject to separate status-based exemptions. The document must also be accepted. Citizenship-based eTA eligibility is not acquired by a noncitizen passport. Checked 2026-10-24. Official source ↗
Schengen restriction: The Tuvalu investor-passport row is recognised only for exit back to Tuvalu by Germany, Austria and Romania; the remaining listed states mark it unrecognised. This is not recognition for an ordinary tourist visit. Checked 2026-10-24. Official source ↗
Each claim shows its own check date. Other profile facts retain their own dates.
Family of four
Household assumptions and eligibility
Principal, spouse and two children aged under 12. Eligibility, age definitions and dependency rules apply.
Not stated in this comparison
Requirements
Eligibility, presence and exceptions
The 2001 Canada Gazette describes payment for permanent resident status and a passport, without citizenship or an investment component. This archived paid-passport scheme is not an operating current investment offer.
- Presence
- Not stated in this comparison
- Travel-document recognition and visas
- Do not inherit ordinary citizen passport visa exemptions. These are historical document categories; present recognition and destination entry requirements require separate confirmation.
- Holding / ongoing duties
- Not stated in this comparison
Travel access
Destination rules, conditions and source dates
This route does not establish ordinary national-passport privileges. Short visits; personal circumstances and entry conditions apply. Each rule retains its own check date.
- UK visits
- Visa required
For UK entry using this non-national document, a visa is required under the non-national travel-document rule. Separate UK immigration-status exemptions and airside-transit rules can apply. Document recognition is a separate requirement.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- UK visa requirements: non-national travel documents ↗UK Visas and Immigration · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
The non-national/refugee document section requires a visa for UK entry on a non-UK non-national document. Airside transit has separate nationality and exemption rules.
- UK visa requirements: non-national travel documents ↗UK Visas and Immigration · Government guidance · Checked
- Schengen visits
- Not for tourist entry
The Tuvalu investor-passport row is recognised only for exit back to Tuvalu by Germany, Austria and Romania; the remaining listed states mark it unrecognised. This is not recognition for an ordinary tourist visit.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Travel-document recognition register, published 19 October 2026 ↗European Commission DG HOME · Government document register · Checked
What this source supports
Notifications through 16 October. Panama special-passport recognition differs by state; Tuvalu investor-passport recognition is limited to exit back to Tuvalu in Germany, Austria and Romania.
- Travel-document recognition register, published 19 October 2026 ↗European Commission DG HOME · Government document register · Checked
- USA visits
- Nationality-based eligibility
This noncitizen document does not itself qualify the holder for the US Visa Waiver Program. The traveller needs a separate qualifying nationality, passport and ESTA, or the applicable visa or status.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirements ↗US Department of State · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.
- Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirements ↗US Department of State · Government guidance · Checked
- Canada visits
- Visitor visa required
IRCC requires a visitor visa for alien-passport holders and stateless travellers, subject to separate status-based exemptions. The document must also be accepted. Citizenship-based eTA eligibility is not acquired by a noncitizen passport.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- eTA eligibility: alien passport and stateless travellers ↗Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
Alien-passport holders and stateless individuals travel with a visitor visa; Canadian status and US permanent-resident exemptions remain separate.
- eTA eligibility: alien passport and stateless travellers ↗Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Government guidance · Checked
Global category counts, where shown above, are attributed publisher snapshots. The selected destination rules here use government evidence. Recognition of a document is separate from visa exemption.
Sources
Publications, supporting claims and review dates
Checked means the cited material was reviewed, not that the authority published a new rule that day. Source authority and retrieval limitations are recorded below.
Canada Gazette Part II, 19 December 2001, page 2811Government of Canada · Checked
Official archival source
Kiribati investor passports and Tuvalu paid resident passports did not grant citizenship; historical introduction dates
UK visa requirements: non-national travel documentsUK Visas and Immigration · Checked
Government guidance
The non-national/refugee document section requires a visa for UK entry on a non-UK non-national document. Airside transit has separate nationality and exemption rules.
eTA eligibility: alien passport and stateless travellersImmigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Checked
Government guidance
Alien-passport holders and stateless individuals travel with a visitor visa; Canadian status and US permanent-resident exemptions remain separate.
Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirementsUS Department of State · Checked
Government guidance
VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.
Travel-document recognition register, published 19 October 2026European Commission DG HOME · Checked
Government document register
Notifications through 16 October. Panama special-passport recognition differs by state; Tuvalu investor-passport recognition is limited to exit back to Tuvalu in Germany, Austria and Romania.
No sources match. Try a country, authority or a different word.