Government programme concept 2025 legislation; implementation pending confirmation
Botswana — Impact / economic citizenship initiative
The government’s 2025 report describes the Impact Investment Programme and proposed institutional arrangements. Its US$75,000 threshold and workflow are concept-design figures.
Government concept; indicative contribution, separate from a final tariff.
Evidence & review dates · 13 October 2026
Evidence reviewed Dated research; confirm current terms with the authority.
Government of Botswana ↗All sources & limitations →Suggest a correction →Selected source-backed facts checked 2026-10-24. Other facts retain their cited source dates.
- Legal outcome
- Announced citizenship framework
- Announced contribution / concept amount
- $75,000
- Presence
- Announced
Cost breakdown
A complete itemised government-fee subtotal is not listed here. The qualifying amount remains separate from document, professional and other charges.
Use the current government schedule for the exact applicant cohort.
Family of four
Household assumptions and eligibility
Principal, spouse and two children aged under 12. Eligibility, age definitions and dependency rules apply.
Not stated in this comparison
Requirements
Eligibility, presence and exceptions
The government’s 2025 report describes the Impact Investment Programme and proposed institutional arrangements. Its US$75,000 threshold and workflow are concept-design figures.
- Presence
- Not stated in this comparison
- Holding / ongoing duties
- Advertised US$75 k–90 k not used as legal price
Travel access
Destination rules, conditions and source dates
This route does not establish ordinary national-passport privileges. Short visits; personal circumstances and entry conditions apply. Each rule retains its own check date.
- UK visits
- Visitor visa required
Current ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. The UK visitor visa nationality list requires advance entry clearance; individual status-based exceptions are separate.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Current visitor visa nationality and ETA eligibility lists ↗UK Home Office / UKVI · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
Visitor-visa list includes Botswana, Jordan, North Macedonia, Georgia, Serbia and Pakistan; Austria, Malta and St Vincent have ordinary-passport ETA access under the separately cited eligibility guidance.
- Current visitor visa nationality and ETA eligibility lists ↗UK Home Office / UKVI · Government guidance · Checked
- Schengen visits
- Visitor visa required
Current ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. The official nationality table requires a short-stay visa. A valid Schengen residence permit/long-stay visa or other legal exemption has separate conditions.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Official nationality visa-requirements table and footnotes ↗German Federal Foreign Office · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
Ordinary-passport visitor requirements: Botswana/Jordan/Pakistan require visas; St Vincent and Serbia are exempt for short stays; North Macedonia/Georgia require biometric passports for the exemption. The 90-in-180 and official-passport footnotes remain separate.
- Travel documents and Schengen entry for non-EU nationals ↗European Union / Your Europe · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
Valid Schengen residence permits or long-stay visas can substitute for a short-stay visa; a recognised valid travel document and other entry conditions still apply. Short stays use the 90-in-180 rule.
- Official nationality visa-requirements table and footnotes ↗German Federal Foreign Office · Government guidance · Checked
- USA visits
- Visitor visa required
Current ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. This nationality is outside the US Visa Waiver Program. Use the applicable visitor visa unless an individual status-based exception applies.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirements ↗US Department of State · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.
- Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirements ↗US Department of State · Government guidance · Checked
- Canada visits
- Visitor visa required
Current ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. IRCC lists this nationality as visa-required; personal status-based exceptions, including US lawful permanent residence, are separate.
Checked 2026-10-24.
- Entry requirements by nationality, status and travel document ↗Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Government guidance · Checked
What this source supports
Entry conditions depend on citizenship, travel document, status and transport. Foreign residence does not itself create a new nationality. Canadian and US permanent residents have separately described document rules.
- Entry requirements by nationality, status and travel document ↗Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Government guidance · Checked
Global category counts, where shown above, are attributed publisher snapshots. The selected destination rules here use government evidence. Recognition of a document is separate from visa exemption.
Sources
Publications, supporting claims and review dates
Checked means the cited material was reviewed, not that the authority published a new rule that day. Source authority and retrieval limitations are recorded below.
Presidential Impact Report 2025, programme concept pp.24–25Government of Botswana · Checked
Government guidance
Government concept describes an Impact Investment Programme, G2C/G2G modalities, an indicative US$75,000 single-applicant threshold and proposed governance/workflow. These are concept figures, not a final application tariff.
Labour and Home Affairs Committee of Supply speechBotswana parliamentary speeches portal · Checked
Government parliamentary speech
Citizenship Amendment Act 2025 passed and assented; operational tariff/intake not established here.
Current visitor visa nationality and ETA eligibility listsUK Home Office / UKVI · Checked
Government guidance
Visitor-visa list includes Botswana, Jordan, North Macedonia, Georgia, Serbia and Pakistan; Austria, Malta and St Vincent have ordinary-passport ETA access under the separately cited eligibility guidance.
Official nationality visa-requirements table and footnotesGerman Federal Foreign Office · Checked
Government guidance
Ordinary-passport visitor requirements: Botswana/Jordan/Pakistan require visas; St Vincent and Serbia are exempt for short stays; North Macedonia/Georgia require biometric passports for the exemption. The 90-in-180 and official-passport footnotes remain separate.
Travel documents and Schengen entry for non-EU nationalsEuropean Union / Your Europe · Checked
Government guidance
Valid Schengen residence permits or long-stay visas can substitute for a short-stay visa; a recognised valid travel document and other entry conditions still apply. Short stays use the 90-in-180 rule.
Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirementsUS Department of State · Checked
Government guidance
VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.
Entry requirements by nationality, status and travel documentImmigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Checked
Government guidance
Entry conditions depend on citizenship, travel document, status and transport. Foreign residence does not itself create a new nationality. Canadian and US permanent residents have separately described document rules.
No sources match. Try a country, authority or a different word.