Source: https://cbi.me/programme-updates/botswana/

Government programme concept 2025 legislation; implementation pending confirmation

# 🇧🇼Botswana — Impact / economic citizenship initiative

The government’s 2025 report describes the Impact Investment Programme and proposed institutional arrangements. Its US$75,000 threshold and workflow are concept-design figures.

Government concept; indicative contribution, separate from a final tariff.

Evidence & review dates · 13 October 2026

Evidence reviewed 13 October 2026Dated research; confirm current terms with the authority.

[Government of Botswana ↗](https://crm.gov.bw/v1/storage/buckets/69123786002b3b19da09/files/sona-report-2025/download?project=63d67d7e1b18255e90e4)[All sources & limitations →](https://cbi.me/programme-updates/botswana/#sources)[Suggest a correction →](https://cbi.me/corrections/?page=%2Fprogramme-updates%2Fbotswana%2F)

Selected source-backed facts checked 2026-10-24. Other facts retain their cited source dates.

[Compare this programme →](https://cbi.me/?view=upcoming&compare=bw)

Legal outcome

Announced citizenship framework

Announced contribution / concept amount

$75,000

Presence

Announced

## Cost breakdown

A complete itemised government-fee subtotal is not listed here. The qualifying amount remains separate from document, professional and other charges.

Use the current government schedule for the exact applicant cohort.

## Family of four

Household assumptions and eligibility

Principal, spouse and two children aged under 12. Eligibility, age definitions and dependency rules apply.

Not stated in this comparison

## Requirements

Eligibility, presence and exceptions

The government’s 2025 report describes the Impact Investment Programme and proposed institutional arrangements. Its US$75,000 threshold and workflow are concept-design figures.

Presence

Not stated in this comparison

Holding / ongoing duties

Advertised US$75 k–90 k not used as legal price

## Travel access

Destination rules, conditions and source dates

This route does not establish ordinary national-passport privileges. Short visits; personal circumstances and entry conditions apply. Each rule retains its own check date.

UK visits

Visitor visa requiredCurrent ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. The UK visitor visa nationality list requires advance entry clearance; individual status-based exceptions are separate.

Checked 2026-10-24.

- [Current visitor visa nationality and ETA eligibility lists ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/immigration-rules/immigration-rules-appendix-visitor-visa-national-list)UK Home Office / UKVI · Government guidance · Checked 2026-10-24What this source supports

Visitor-visa list includes Botswana, Jordan, North Macedonia, Georgia, Serbia and Pakistan; Austria, Malta and St Vincent have ordinary-passport ETA access under the separately cited eligibility guidance.

Schengen visits

Visitor visa requiredCurrent ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. The official nationality table requires a short-stay visa. A valid Schengen residence permit/long-stay visa or other legal exemption has separate conditions.

Checked 2026-10-24.

- [Official nationality visa-requirements table and footnotes ↗](https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en/visa-service/231148-231148)German Federal Foreign Office · Government guidance · Checked 2026-10-24What this source supports

Ordinary-passport visitor requirements: Botswana/Jordan/Pakistan require visas; St Vincent and Serbia are exempt for short stays; North Macedonia/Georgia require biometric passports for the exemption. The 90-in-180 and official-passport footnotes remain separate.

- [Travel documents and Schengen entry for non-EU nationals ↗](https://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/travel/entry-exit/non-eu-nationals/index_en.htm)European Union / Your Europe · Government guidance · Checked 2026-10-24What this source supports

Valid Schengen residence permits or long-stay visas can substitute for a short-stay visa; a recognised valid travel document and other entry conditions still apply. Short stays use the 90-in-180 rule.

USA visits

Visitor visa requiredCurrent ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. This nationality is outside the US Visa Waiver Program. Use the applicable visitor visa unless an individual status-based exception applies.

Checked 2026-10-24.

- [Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirements ↗](https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/us-visas/tourism-visit/visa-waiver-program.html)US Department of State · Government guidance · Checked 2026-10-24What this source supports

VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.

Canada visits

Visitor visa requiredCurrent ordinary Botswana national passport, after citizenship and passport issuance. IRCC lists this nationality as visa-required; personal status-based exceptions, including US lawful permanent residence, are separate.

Checked 2026-10-24.

- [Entry requirements by nationality, status and travel document ↗](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/visit-canada/entry-requirements-country.html)Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Government guidance · Checked 2026-10-24What this source supports

Entry conditions depend on citizenship, travel document, status and transport. Foreign residence does not itself create a new nationality. Canadian and US permanent residents have separately described document rules.

Global category counts, where shown above, are attributed publisher snapshots. The selected destination rules here use government evidence. Recognition of a document is separate from visa exemption.

## Sources

Publications, supporting claims and review dates

Checked means the cited material was reviewed, not that the authority published a new rule that day. Source authority and retrieval limitations are recorded below.

Find a source

- Presidential Impact Report 2025, programme concept pp.24–25Government of Botswana · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://crm.gov.bw/v1/storage/buckets/69123786002b3b19da09/files/sona-report-2025/download?project=63d67d7e1b18255e90e4)

Government guidance

Government concept describes an Impact Investment Programme, G2C/G2G modalities, an indicative US$75,000 single-applicant threshold and proposed governance/workflow. These are concept figures, not a final application tariff.

- Labour and Home Affairs Committee of Supply speechBotswana parliamentary speeches portal · Checked 2026-10-12

[Open source publication ↗](https://www.botswanaspeaks.gov.bw/media/COMMITTEE%20OF%20SUPPLY%20SPEECHES/MLHA%20-%20Committee%20of%20Supply%20Speech%20FINAL%20%20-%2024-02-2026.pdf)

Government parliamentary speech

Citizenship Amendment Act 2025 passed and assented; operational tariff/intake not established here.

- Current visitor visa nationality and ETA eligibility listsUK Home Office / UKVI · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/immigration-rules/immigration-rules-appendix-visitor-visa-national-list)

Government guidance

Visitor-visa list includes Botswana, Jordan, North Macedonia, Georgia, Serbia and Pakistan; Austria, Malta and St Vincent have ordinary-passport ETA access under the separately cited eligibility guidance.

- Official nationality visa-requirements table and footnotesGerman Federal Foreign Office · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en/visa-service/231148-231148)

Government guidance

Ordinary-passport visitor requirements: Botswana/Jordan/Pakistan require visas; St Vincent and Serbia are exempt for short stays; North Macedonia/Georgia require biometric passports for the exemption. The 90-in-180 and official-passport footnotes remain separate.

- Travel documents and Schengen entry for non-EU nationalsEuropean Union / Your Europe · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/travel/entry-exit/non-eu-nationals/index_en.htm)

Government guidance

Valid Schengen residence permits or long-stay visas can substitute for a short-stay visa; a recognised valid travel document and other entry conditions still apply. Short stays use the 90-in-180 rule.

- Visa Waiver Program nationality and passport requirementsUS Department of State · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/us-visas/tourism-visit/visa-waiver-program.html)

Government guidance

VWP requires participating citizenship/nationality, a qualifying passport and ESTA. A noncitizen investment document does not itself establish those requirements.

- Entry requirements by nationality, status and travel documentImmigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · Checked 2026-10-24

[Open source publication ↗](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/visit-canada/entry-requirements-country.html)

Government guidance

Entry conditions depend on citizenship, travel document, status and transport. Foreign residence does not itself create a new nationality. Canadian and US permanent residents have separately described document rules.

No sources match. Try a country, authority or a different word.

All 7 source records are listed. Open a title to read its evidence and publication link.

## Compare alternatives

- [🇦🇷Argentina](https://cbi.me/programme-updates/argentina/)

- [🇻🇨Saint Vincent and the Grenadines](https://cbi.me/programme-updates/saint-vincent-and-the-grenadines/)

## Useful guides

- [CBI privacy and disclosure: what Saint Lucia’s law requires](https://cbi.me/guides/cbi-privacy-and-disclosure/)

- [Does Croatia have citizenship by investment?](https://cbi.me/guides/croatia-citizenship-by-investment/)

- [European investor routes: closed options, draft taxes and ongoing checks](https://cbi.me/guides/europe-investor-route-changes-2026/)
